In This Moment – “A Star Crossed Wasteland” (2010)


Label : Century Media Records

Review by Tony Cannella

In This Moment have steadily built a loyal fan base since their debut, “Beautiful Tragedy” was unleashed in 2007. As good as that one was, it was their second, “The Dream” that really forced a lot of people to sit up and take notice. Now, on the third album from this Southern California based quintet, “A Star-Crossed Wasteland” the band continues to display their aggressive, melodic metal sound. One of the many strengths that In This Moment displays is the ability to be ultra-aggressive at times and melodic at others. That fact hasn’t changed on their third album.  From the combative sounding opening duo of “Gunshow” and “Just Drive” to the more melodically driven “The Promise”, In This Moment is a band that definitely gives the listener a happy medium between aggression and melodicism. Of course, the diverse vocal style of Maria Brink is the focal point; she has a cool style that fits in well with the tempo changes that In This Moment is known for. “Standing Alone” is a heavy track, but still packs a melodic punch, and features a great chorus. “A Star-Crossed Wasteland” slows the chaos down a bit, with a pretty piano opening and Maria delivers one her best vocal performances of her career, totally expressive and the song just draws you from the start. “Iron Army” is one of the more hostile and heavy numbers on display here. With a playing time of 42-minutes, “A Star-Crossed Wasteland” is a perfect addition to the ever-growing In This Moment catalog.    

Rating – 88/100



  1. Gunshow
  2. Just Drive
  3. The Promise
  4. Standing Alone
  5. A Star-Crossed Wasteland
  6. Blazin’
  7. The Road
  8. Iron Army
  9. The Last Cowboy
  10. World In Flames


Line Up

  • Maria Brink – Vocals
  • Chris Howorth – Guitars
  • Black Bunzel – Guitars
  • Kyle Konkiel – Bass
  • Jeff Fabb – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like