Indie Zone Reviews : Amanda Palmer & The Grand Theft Orchestra – “Theatre Is Evil” (2012)


Label : Cooking Vinyl/Edel

Review by Luisa Mercier

“Theatre Is Evil” is the result of how much fans support is worth. Amanda Palmer was able to record the album after raising more than one million dollars on the Kickstarter platform and the fans were also able to decide how the title should have been written. So, together with her, we find The Grand Theft Orchestra (aka Michael McQuilken, Chad Raines e Jherek Bischoff ) that give birth to an electronic, heavy, distorted sound completed by Amanda vocals. “Smile (Pictures or It Didn’t Happen)” is an example of this, followed by new single “Killing Type”, catchy but angry, harsh song accompanied by a bloody (literally) video. “Do It with a Rockstar” and the first single “Want It Back” represent the rock and funny side of the record, especially the second has distinctive ’80s influences, new wave influences that paired with Amanda voice create a perfect hook. Among my favourite there is “Trout Heart Replica”, an orchestral piece, fille with piano and atmosphere that could be taken off the previous album of Amanda. Same for “The Bed Song”. “Theatre Is Evil” is a release that shows how Amanda can offer a lot to the music scene and I am sure that it is almost impossible that fans will be unhappy with what their money resulted in.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Meow Meow Introduces The Grand Theft Orchestra
  2. .Smile (Pictures or It Didn’t Happen)
  3. The Killing Type
  4. Do It with a Rockstar
  5. Want It Back
  6. Grown Man Cry
  7. Trout Heart Replica
  8. A Grand Theft Intermission
  9. Lost
  10. Bottomfeeder
  11. The Bed Song
  12. Massachusetts Avenue
  13. Melody Dean (featuring David J on bass)
  14. Berlin
  15. Olly Olly Oxen Free 


Line Up

  • Amanda Palmer – Vocals, Piano
  • Chad Raines – Lead Guitar, Banjo, Backing Vocals, Horn Arrangements & Programming 
  • Jherek Bischoff – Bass & Backing Vocals 
  • Chad Raines – Lead Guitar, Banjo, Backing Vocals, Horn Arrangements & Programming 
  • Michael McQuilken – Drums, Ukulele & Backing Vocals 



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like