Indie Zone Reviews : Ellie Goulding – “Halcyon” (2012)


Label : Polydor

Review by Luisa Mercier

I loved and still love Ellie Goulding debut “Lights” and really welcomed with open arms this second official release. From samples, you could already say that she had raised the bar of quality, and after listening to the album, I can say I was right. Most impressive thing are of course her vocals: so childish, yet powerful, full of feeling and sweetness. Listen to “Hanging On”, cover of Active Child (check him out too, if you haven’t), she will blow you out with her groovy voice and the atmospheric track enriched with harp. Love at first listen. Other highlights of the album are “My Blood”, with its ethnic percussions, the paced beat and the pathos til the catchy chorus, and “Explosions” with its operatic-tinged vocals in the background and the orchestral sound. Very nice is the single>“Anything Could Happen” accompanied by a melancholic video and the sweet ballad “I Know You Care”, included as soundtrack in a movie. Really different is “I Need Your Love”, featuring dj Calvin Harris (already with Florence Welch). The song is tipycally dance, on the mainstream side, but enjoyable all the same. Another song with a different style is “Figure 8”, that is clearly influenced by dubstep, the trademark of her boyfriend Skrillex. The overall feeling is less festive than in the debut, more melancholic, but maybe I prefer “Halcyon” for this reason. Absolutely recommended.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Don’t Say a Word
  2. My Blood
  3. Anything Could Happen
  4. Only You
  5. Halcyon
  6. Figure 8
  7. Joy
  8. Hangin On
  9. Explosions
  10. I Know You Care
  11. Atlantis
  12. Dead in the Water
  13. I Need Your Love (feat. Calvin Harris)
  14. Lights (Single Version)


Line Up

  • Ellie Goulding – vocals, songwriting



MySpace * Facebook * Google Plus * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like