Industrial/Electronic Realms : Kirlian Camera – “Nightglory” (2011)


Label : Out of Line

Review by Luisa Mercier

The Italian industrial combo Kirlian Camera is a cult throughout Europe and now is back with another beautiful release. “Nightglory” is maybe their most atmospheric and melodic release since their powerful electronic structures have been made softer through the addition of piano and symphonic arrangements. As soon as “I’m Not Sorry” starts, you know you are listening to a great record. Piano notes open the track and slowly acquires rhythm and strength; towards the ending a choir of evil kids makes everything creepier. The title-track was already released in the single “Ghlòir ar an Oìche”, and it is a catchy, anthemic song thanks to the magnificent vocal performance by Elena Alice Fossi. “Hymn” is a cover of the Ultravox song dating back to 1982 and Kirlian Camera rendition is beautiful, even more majestc than the original. The short “Save Me Lord” is a sweet, delicate ballad with symphonic and acoustic guitar arrangements. “Winged Child” follows and we go back to darker territories. Distorted guitars mix with industrial beats. Definitely more up-tempo than the previous ones with even a slight danceable feeling. The fascinating and short “I Killed Judas” is an intro to “Immortal”: sensual in the verse and powerful in the chorus. Elena Alice is very aggressive and expressive in this track, I would say almost angry. “I Gave You Wings” is an ethereal track with a clear ambient influence and Elena shows once again other aspects of her amazing, sexy voice. Instrumental with a soundtrack atmosphere is “Black Tiger Rising” while the closing track is another cover song. “Gethsemane” from “Jesus Christ Superstar” musical. Kirlian Camera rendition is epic and dark. Really a classy release which draws from symphonic, pop, electronic and acoustic music;we can say that Kirlian Camera created another masterpiece!

Rating – 90/100



  1. I’m Not Sorry 
  2. Nightglory
  3. Hymn
  4. Save Me Lord
  5. Winged Child
  6. I Killed Jesus
  7. Immortal
  8. I Gave You Wings – I Gave You Death
  9. Black Tiger Rising
  10. Gethsemane


Line Up

  • Elena Alice Fossi – Lead and backing vocals, electronics, programming, treatments, keyboards, piano, additional bass guitar, studio sound engineering
  • Angelo Bergamini – Electronics, additional programming and keyboards, male voice inputs
  • Kyoo Nam Rossi – Electric, acoustic & bass guitar 



MySpace * Facebook *  Site

You May Also Like