Industrial/Electronic Realms Review : Delerium – “Voice – An Acoustic Collection” (2010)


Label : Nettwerk Music Group

Review by Luisa Mercier

Delerium are the masters of electro/dream pop and their enchanting melodies are immortal for all of us, ambient music lovers. After so many masterpieces, the combo decided it was about time to release an acoustic album containing all their most successful songs in a new and unreleased version plus three never heard tracks. The opener “Send Me An Angel” is one of them and it has a heavenly feeling. The mood is calm, dreamy, the chorus is catchy. Feels like floating in the sea in a summer day. The vocals are delivered by Miranda Lee Richards; they soar over the music creating an angelic atmosphere. “Dust in Gravity” is the first of the old songs here proposed as acoustic version. The original had a distinctive pop, modern sound thanks also to Kreesha Turner vocals. The acoustic has a slight jazzish, bluesy taste and it is as enjoyable as the song featured on “Remixed: The Definitive Collection”. Another unreleased is “Too Late, Farewell”, so sad, melancholic. The piano and guitar notes highlight the nostalgic feelings that are in Butterfly Boucher’s vocal lines. Really an outstanding piece of music. “Silence” is maybe Delerium‘s greatest hit and it has been rearranged by several DJs during the years, for example by Tiesto. The present version is piano, strings and percussions based and it has an exotic mood to it. Sarah McLachlan‘s vocals shine once again throughout it. Another successful song is “Innocente” and the acoustic version has retained the folk-Middle Eastern feeling of the original coupled with Leigh Nash‘s sweet voice. Last brand new song is “Vienna” featuring Elsiane on vocals. Her voice is quite strange at first listen, she recalled me the Belorussian singer/pianist Leandra, but it’s just a matter of getting used to it, I guess. Piano, strings and acoustic guitar make the track another perfect Delerium gift to their fans.“Lost and Found” has Jael from Lunik on vocals and it has the same pop sound of the original, though more elegant and refined thanks to strings and piano. A more ethnic style is the one chosen for the acoustic version of “Flowers Become Screens” with the ethereal vocals of Kristy Thirsk. “Love” has become even more refined in the acoustic version with the distinctive voice of Zoe Johnston as perfect complement. A simple piano and vocals arrangement for “After All” with lovely Jael again, while the chill-out/lounge mood of “Orbit of Me” becomes a nice ethnic beat. Last track is “Touched” featuring Rachel Fuller which becomes a nice classic ballad with piano and strings. The romantic atmosphere of this track closes this beautiful album. A must for all Delerium fans.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Send Me An Angel (featuring Miranda Lee Richards)
  2. Dust In Gravity (Acoustic) (featuring Kreesha Turner)
  3. Silence (Acoustic) (featuring Sarah McLachlan)
  4. Innocente (Acoustic) (featuring Leigh Nash)
  5. Vienna (featuring Elsieanne Caplette)
  6. Lost And Found (Acoustic) (featuring Jaël)
  7. Flowers Become Screens (Acoustic) (featuring Kristy Thirsk)
  8. Love (Acoustic) (featuring Zoë Johnston)
  9. After All (Acoustic) (featuring Jaël)
  10. Orbit Of Me (Acoustic) (featuring Leigh Nash)
  11. Touched (Acoustic) (featuring Rachel Fuller)


Line Up

  • Bill Leeb – Founder, Writer & producer
  • Michael Balch – Co-founder, Co-writer & co-producer
  • Rhys Fulber – Co-writer, co-producer
  • Chris Peterson – Co-producer
  • Miranda Lee Richards – Vocals
  • Kreesha Turner – Vocals 
  • Leigh Nash – Vocals 
  • Jaël – Vocals 
  • Kristy Thirsk – Vocals 
  • Elsieanne Caplette – Vocals 
  • Zoë Johnston – Vocals 
  • Rachel Fuller – Vocals 



Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like