Industrial/Electronic Realms : The Dreamside – “Lunar Nature” (2009)


Label : Lion Music

Review By Tony Cannella

Holland’s The Dreamside have been at it since 1994. In that period they have released four albums and on December 4, 2009, their sixth, “Lunar Nature” will be unleashed via Lion Music. The bands music can be described as dark, Gothic metal, with electronic and alternative elements thrown in – all of that and more can be heard on this 15-song opus that lasts just over an hour. Probably one of the most appealing things about The Dreamside is the darkly romantic atmosphere that the songs display on “Lunar Nature”, and their ability to incorporate different styles and influences into their sound. The vocals of Kemi Vita are quite impressive as well and a good fit for the music that is being performed throughout “Lunar Nature”. For a release that is so packed with so much material, “Lunar Nature” features plenty of good music and diversity, making it a thoroughly enjoyable listen all the way through with very few weak moments. Some of the highlights include: the great opener “Everlasting”, the moody “Silently Awake”, “When Stars Fall”, “Hush”, “In Longing” and probably my favorite track “Sternenkind”. The short closer “Vlindertke” ends things on a melancholic note and is a great finale.These days for a band to last as long as fifteen years is quite an achievement. You must have perserverance, dedication and most of all good songs which The Dreamside have in abundance – “Lunar Nature” is proof of that fact.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Everlasting
  2. Silently Awake
  3. When Stars Fall
  4. Higher Ground
  5. Sticks and Stones
  6. Carry On
  7. Lunar Nature
  8. Hush
  9. In Longing
  10. Sternenkind
  11. Serpents Kiss
  12. Seeds of Pain
  13. Willing to Learn
  14. Unspoken
  15. Vlindertke


Line Up 

  • Kemi Vita – Vocals
  • Fried Bruggink – Guitar
  • Cees Viset – Guitar
  • Roman Schoensee – Bass
  • Merijn Mol – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like