Infinite Tales – “Only the Beginning” (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

To be completely honest with you, once I received the debut full-length from the Ukraine’s Infinite Tales, dubbed “Only the Beginning”, I had absolutely no idea what I was in for, than I put said CD into the player and for 14-songs and one hour I sat listening with my jaw on the floor in stunned admiration for the music that was emanating from my speakers. The songs are just so unrelenting and unapologetic that it is an easy CD to love and play again and again. Infinite Tales hail from the Ukraine and they play a melodic and technical brand of thrash metal mixed with traditional metal elements, they also feature the duel male/female vocals of Kiwi (female) and Zolik (male), who present two styles that could not be any more different from one another, a trait that really propels “Only the Beginning”. The opener “Intro: Infinite Tales” starts things off and it is a symphonic opener that builds to crescendo before segueing into the frenzied track “Amoxicillan… Extermination”. A great song that kicks off the mayhem. The male vocals of Zolik are a strong force that really drives this song, his style is more of an aggressive screaming style with a harsh tone to it. In contrast to that the female vocals of Kiwi are the exact opposite, she showcases a mid to high range with operatic influences. The next track “Running Away” is next and this is one of the heavier and faster songs included in this collection, again I can’t say enough about the vocals. The songs are definitely aggressive and thrashy, yet there is a hint of classic metal influences thrown in as well. “Point of No Return” is a definite highlight with Kiwi handling most of the vocals here as the pace is slowed somewhat, but the heaviness remains, a great guitar riff is included on this track as well. Other highlights include: “No War for This Century”, “Wings”, “Dethtale”, the awesome instrumental “Bridge Going Down”, “The Night at the Cemetery” and “Waltz in the Flame”. Okay, maybe I have really gone overboard in praising this band. I realize that all musical tastes are subjective to the individual and Infinite Tales may not impress others as much as they’ve impressed me, so proceed with caution. I will say however, that it has been a long time since I have been this excited about a new thrash band. For Infinite Tales, this is indeed “Only the Beginning” (sorry, I couldn’t resist).

Rating – 100/100



  1. Intro: Infinite Tales
  2. Amoxicillin… Extermination
  3. Running Away
  4. Point of No Return
  5. No War for This Century
  6. Wings
  7. Dethtale
  8. Bridge Going Down
  9. The Night at the Cemetery
  10. Waltz in the Flame
  11. Bloodyfield
  12. Little More Anger
  13. The Warehouse Will Be Your Tomb, Chief
  14. Outro: Only the Beginning


Line Up

  • Kiwi – Female Vocals
  • Zolik – Male Vocals
  • Nazar – Guitar
  • Glorf – Guitar
  • Imtrid – Bass
  • ParevoD – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like