Iridyum – “What I Feel Inside” (2009)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

Iridyum are an alternative metal band from Italy. They have previously released an EP and a single, and now have presented their full-length debut titled “What I Feel Inside”. For an introduction to this band, “What I Feel Inside” certainly gets the job done. The songs are straight forward and are loaded with heavy riffs and the band doesn’t stray to far from their stated musical style.The great opening riff of the first song, “Light & Shadow” gets us started on the right note. This song has a groove that is quite contagious running through it, led by the powerful vocals of Laura and that aforementioned guitar riff. “Fighting” starts off with a slower tempo, but quickly gets heavier and evolves into a great, big melodic rock track. Probably my three favorite songs to be featured here are “I Have No Choice”, “Scream” and “You” (which features some of Laura‘s best vocal work). Iridyum are yet another promising band to emerge from Italy, yet they are different than a lot of metal that is coming from that part of the world. The songs do not have the Gothic and operatic overtones that many female fronted metal acts contain, instead they go for a more simple, basic and organic approach to their music. The whole thing features 9-songs and lasts about 35-minutes, but “What I Feel Inside” leaves a good impression.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Light & Shadow
  2. Fighting
  3. Memories of Life
  4. Illusionless
  5. So Alone
  6. I Have No Choice
  7. Scream
  8. You
  9. Inside


Line Up

  • Laura Piras – Vocals
  • Davide Campanella – Lead Guitar
  • Angelo Marguglio – Rhythm Guitar
  • Sebestiano Gatto – Bass
  • Fabrizio Pacera – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like