Issa – “Sign of the Angels” (2010)


Label : Frontiers Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Issa is the name of a 26 year old vocalist from Norway. She plays hook laden, arena ready Melodic Rock and has just released her debut “Sign of Angels” via the Frontiers label. On “Sign of Angels”, Issa was helped out by some big names in the world of metal. Ronny Milianowicz of Saint Deamon was the producer and Helloween drummer Uli Kusch lent his considerable talents on drums and add in the impressive vocals of Issa and you get 12-songs and 47-minutes worth of extremely catchy, big sounding melodic rock. The opener “Angels Crying” shows you exactly what to expect from this point on. The vibe is up-tempo, and kind of happy sounding. “I’m Alive” keeps the hard rocking pace going, before giving way to the first ballad, “Give Me a Sign”. Next is “River of Love” another up-tempo number, which is followed by the mid-tempo, “What Can I Do”. Other highlights include: “Closer”, “Flying High” and “Following Angel”. There is something extremely like-able and endearing about this CD. Maybe, it’s because it is impossible to be sad or angry while listening to “Sign of Angels”, there is an upbeat, positive vibe running through the songs. With “Sign of Angels”, Issa has produced a solid hard rock record and one that should appeal to fans who love their music with a lot of melody.

Rating – 83/100



  1. Angels Crying
  2. I’m Alive
  3. Give Me a Sign
  4. River of Love
  5. What Can I Do
  6. Closer
  7. Unbelievable
  8. How Will I Know
  9. As I Live and Breathe
  10. Flying High
  11. It’s Not Me
  12. Fallen Angel

Line Up

  • Issa – Vocals
  • Peter Huss – Guitars
  • Tim Larsson – Keyboards
  • Nobby Noberg – Bass
  • Uli Kusch – Drums




You May Also Like