Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From France, Ivalys plays Symphonic Metal, featuring the strong vocals of Jessica Donati. Their debut 4-song, 20-minute debut EP, “Words in Time” was released a few months ago and now it is my pleasure to give this underrated, unknown band a listen and to give them their proper due. The opening track “Preys of Envy” is a great way to begin things and immediately had my attention. Jessica Donati’s mid-range to operatic vocal approach is impressive and the next track “Words in Time” continues its up-tempo direction, with a straight forward, relentless style. The 3rd track “Our Gift” begins with a piano intro before the song transforms into a bombastic symphonic style song.The whole thing is brought to its conclusion with my favorite track “Last Paradise”. This is a heavy yet slower paced track than the previous ones and sees Jessica sharing vocals with a male singer who offers a more extreme style. Oh, and did I mention that there is a lot of melody to be heard on “Words in Time” ? Well there is and that is always a plus in my book.I am so grateful that I get to hear and review some great unknown acts. It is bands like Ivalys that proves how vast the metal landscape is, and it is also proof that great music is not only made by bands that have enjoyed worldwide acclaim. “Words in Time” is a good, solid debut from a band that I certainly hope we hear more from in the future.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Preys of Envy
  2. Words in Time
  3. Our Gift
  4. Last Paradise


Line Up

  • Jessica Donati – Vocals
  • Nicolas Rey – Guitar
  • Guillaume Muller – Keyboards
  • Loris Guillen – Bass
  • Pablo San Martín – Drums 



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)