Karnataka – “The Gathering Light” (2010)


Label : Immrama Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From the U.K., Karnataka have been showcasing their brand of Celtic influenced prog rock since their debut was released in 1998. Since then, the band have undergone several line-up changes but have persevered. Their new album – 4th studio release overall – is titled, “The Gathering Light”. Karnataka have amassed a loyal cult following over the years in prog rock circles, and “The Gathering Light” is an album that should be greeted warmly by fans of the band – old and new. Among the 8-songs, “The Gathering Light” features it’s share of long, epic type numbers that the band is known for. I love the vocals of Lisa Fury, who sometimes reminds me a bit of Sharon den Adel from Within Temptation. After the 2-minute intro, “The Calling”, Karnataka do the unthinkable, they start with the 9-minute instrumental, “State of Grace”. Very few bands would start a CD with a long, epic instrumental track – but you’ve got to give Karnataka credit for doing something a bit different. The 8-minute, “Your World” is the first song to feature vocals, an excellent track that showcases the immense talent of the entire band. “Moment in Time” is a wistful, orchestral ballad that is another highlight. Perhaps the center-piece on the CD is the 12-minute epic, “Forsaken”. This song is divided into three parts and is one of the best. The 14-minute, “The Gathering Light” brings the CD to a close, another big epic number and a great way to close out the CD. With “The Gathering Light”, Karnataka have delivered an ethereal musical and lyrical journey that should please fans of classic prog rock. Having only been vaguely familiar with Karnataka in the past, this band has definitely won me over.

Rating – 87/100



  1. The Calling
  2. State of Grace
  3. Your World
  4. Moment in Time
  5. The Serpent and the Sea
  6. Forsaken
  7. Tide to Fall
  8. The Gathering Light

Line Up

  • Lisa Fury – Vocals, Percussion
  • Enrico Pinna – Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars
  • Ian Jones – Bass, Keyboards, Piano, Programming
  • Gonzalo Carrera – Keyboards, Piano
  • Ian Harris – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like