Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Katra Solopuro is a very talented vocalist from Finland. Together, with her band they have previously released two full-length albums. Their third – and latest – is titled “Out of the Ashes” and the band continues to mature and progress in the field of symphonic, Gothic Metal.The explosive opener “Delirium” provides plenty of bombast and energy to get “Out of the Ashes” started on a positive note. The following tracks “One Wish Away”, “If There’s No Tomorrow” and “Vendetta” put Katra’s emotive vocal style on display. “Envy” is a beautifully crafted ballad that starts off slow, but builds in tempo. This is one of the stand-out tracks presented here. The majority of the songs falls in the mid-tempo range and is very melodic. The songs wonderfully written and features sterling performances by all of the members. Even though the band is named after Katra Solopuro the band is definitely a solid unit.  Highlights include: “Out of the Ashes”, “Anthem” and the acoustically driven “The End of the Scene”. Katra’s previous album “Beast Within” was impressive but “Out of the Ashes” is a step beyond and Katra’s best work to date.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Delirium
  2. One Wish Away
  3. If There’s No Tomorrow
  4. Vendetta
  5. Out of the Ashes
  6. Envy
  7. Mirror
  8. Anthem
  9. The End of the Scene
  10. Hide and Seek


Line Up

  • Katra Solopuro – Vocals
  • Kristian Kangasniemi – Guitar
  • Teemu Matasjarvi – Guitar 
  • Johannes Tolonen – Bass
  • Matti Auerkallio – Drums



MySpace * Site

Miriam Cadoni
Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)