Kiske/Somerville – “Kiske/Somerville” (2010)


Label : Frontiers Records

Review by Tony Cannella

“Kiske/Somerville” is the long awaited collaboration between (ex-Helloween vocalist) Michael Kiske and Amanda Somerville. When two ultra talented singers come together it has the potential to be obviously very good. I’m happy to say that Michael Kiske and Amanda Somerville have hit a bull’s-eye. First of all, Michael Kiske has always been one of my favorite singers and to pair him with such a great female voice, like Amanda Somerville, is a “can’t miss” event. The songs run the gamut of blazing, guitar oriented hard rock, to symphonic rock, to some truly, melodic and catchy numbers. The opening song, “Nothing Left to Say” even has a “Keepers…” era Helloween vibe to it and gets the CD off to a great beginning. “Silence” follows that up and is the video track for the CD. “A Thousand Suns” is a great mid-tempo, ballad track that sees both Kiske and Somerville singing their hearts out. “Rain” is a bouncy up-tempo number. On this 12-song, 53-minute release, the vocals are split pretty evenly between the two singers as they duet on all of the songs. Other highlights include: “If I Had a Wish”, “Arise”, “End of the Road” and “Devil in Her Heart”. You cannot discount the contributions of some of the other musicians, who helped in the creation of this CD, people like Mat Sinner of Primal Fear, Magnus Karlsson and ex-After Forever guitarist Sander Gommans. On “Kiske/Somerville” two great singers have come together to create an excellent piece of work. It remains to be seen if this just a one off, or we will see more music from this duo. Whatever the case, if this is just a one shot deal, “Kiske/Somerville” has left us with a pretty good album. The song writing, musicianship and vocals are inspired all the way through!

Rating – 90/100



  1. Nothing Left to Say
  2. Silence
  3. If I Had a Wish
  4. Arise
  5. End of the Road
  6. Don’t Walk Away
  7. A Thousand Suns
  8. Rain
  9. One Night Burning
  10. Devil in Her Heart
  11. Second Chance
  12. Set a Fire (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Michael Kiske – Vocals
  • Amanda Somerville – Vocals
  • Magnus Karlsson – Lead Guitar, Guitar, Keyboards
  • Sander Gommans – Additional Lead Guitar
  • Jimmy Kresic – Keyboards
  • Mat Sinner – Bass and Backing Vocals
  • Martin Schmidt – Drums
You May Also Like