Krypteria – “Bloodangel’s Cry” (2007)


Label : Synergy Records/EMI Music

Review by Lithium

There is a tendency in today’s world to think that newer is better. Everything these days has to be different from everything before it, as if this difference in and of itself somehow makes it better. This is especially true in the world of modern music, in which the mere hint of an outdated sound can be the kiss of death for a band. It even seems as though some have sought to expunge from their music any last vestiges of lesser days gone by. With “Bloodangel’s Cry” Krypteria has ignored most of this paradigm. One might even say that they have, in a sense, picked up the broken mantle of traditional, ‘80s-style metal and breathed new life into it. This is Krypteria’s second full-length album featuring talented vocalist Ji-In and the band’s third overall. Its predecessor, 2005’s “In Medias Res”was a rather lighthearted affair with a discernable pop influence. “Bloodangel’s Cry”  takes a noticeable step toward the metallic end of the spectrum and stands as Krypteria’s best effort to date as they continue to develop their sound. The band’s aptly titled EP, “Evolution Principle”, was released in 2006. Despite its traditional-metal underpinnings, “Bloodangel’s Cry” is an ambitious piece of work. It draws upon a wide range of styles from within the metal arena, including symphonic, power-metal and Gothic influences. Nevertheless, this is, at its core, traditional metal. The songs are built around classic metal riffs, rhythms and chord progressions. A distinctly traditional, ‘80s-metal sound permeates the songs, from the Vixen-tinged “Somebody Save Me” to the thrashy intro on “Scream”. What’s new is the infusion of elements from other metal genres, most notably Gothic choral parts sometimes sung in Latin. Some songs feature power-metal segments with embedded shredding guitar solos. Mix in a few symphonic-metal orchestrations and anthemic choruses, and what we are left with is a tasty stew, meticulously prepared for the most discriminating of metal fans. The songs themselves are driven by punchy-crunchy guitar and bass riffs delivered with remarkable precision. Ji-In’s clear voice floats high above the low-end riffing, with a guitar solo or choir coming in to fill the middle. And you won’t find any touching tales amongst the blood-spattered pages of the CD booklet. No, no. The lyrics are a miasma of betrayal, revenge, isolation, Faustian bargains, perdition and similar themes. For a band still struggling to define its sound, at least it’s nice to see that they seem to have found their voice. This is not to say that the overall mood of the album is particularly somber. More often the songs have an upbeat tone that at times almost belies the darkness of the subject matter. “Sweet Revenge”,’ for example, conveys an anthemic sense of triumph replete with orchestral and choral arrangements. Ji-In has a pleasant, well-trained voice with which she brings genuine emotion to the lyrics. To offset her voice’s naturally cheery timbre, she adds a certain amount of ‘cry’ to it by stretching out the ends of certain words and fading down in pitch. This technique is carried off with varying degrees of success throughout the album, but for the most part quite proficiently. More impressive is the way that Ji-In succeeds at the daunting task of pulling together a disparate array of elements from far-flung corners of the vast metal landscape. “Bloodangel’s Cry” shows that traditional-metal influences still have a place within the modern metal template. It may even make you want to dust off some of those old CDs and listen to them with fresh ears and renewed interest. Male Vocals: Background only, clean, limited. No growled male vocals.

Rating – 75/100



  1. All System Go
  2. The Promise
  3. Time to Bring the Pain
  4. Somebody Save Me
  5. Scream
  6. Out of Tears
  7. I Can’t Breath
  8. The Night All Angels Cry
  9. Dream Yourself Far Away
  10. Sweet Revenge
  11. At the Gates of Retribution


Line Up

  • Jin-in Cho – Vocals
  • Chris Siemons – Guitars
  • Frank Stumvoll – Bass 
  • S.C Kuschnerus – Drums 



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like