Krypteria – “My Fatal Kiss” (2009)


Label : On Fire Records/Roadrunner Records

Review By Danny Robertson

Here we have “My Fatal Kiss”, the latest album from Roadrunner Records act Krypteria. Hailing from Germany, this goth-metal quartet (who have also been described by some quarters as being power metal and symphonic metal by others) waste no time in hitting you with heavy riffs, right from the very moment first track ‘Ignition’ begins. This heaviness however, is in direct contrast to frontwoman Ji-In Cho‘s vocals, providing a more melodic element. Delve further into the album and you’ll find operatic and gothic elements, the occasional air of classic/stadium rock, and even dashes of pop, making for an interesting mix that could even potentially allow for a crossover to mainstream appeal. “Why Did You Stop the World from Turning” has ‘radio hit’ stamped all over it, showcasing everything that’s good about this band, from Ji-In Cho‘s vocal range to Chris Siemons‘ guitar work, and “For You I’ll Bring the Devil Down” (for which the band have made a video) should easily appeal to fans of Lacuna Coil or Nightwish‘s more recent material, without sounding like a mere copycat band. Elsewhere on the album, there’s very little filler, with “Never Say Die” ably demonstrating the band’s ear for a good melody, whilst penultimate track “God I Need Someone” is a string-led ballad which slows the pace a little. Album closer “Now (Start Spreading the Word)” acts as another example of everything you’ll find on this album, marrying a cool riff to strings with an operatic backing. “My Fatal Kiss” has the potential to appeal to a wide range of metal/heavy rock fans, given its effortless mix of a wide range of sub-genres, from goth to symphonic with a pop nous, without sounding laboured or contrived. If Krypteria can continue to produce material of this calibre and deliver in the live environment, this band should easily continue to rise. Would appeal to fans of Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Evanescence, Doro and Luca Turilli.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Ignition
  2. My Fatal Kiss
  3. Why Did You Stop the World from Turning
  4. For You I’ll Bring the Devil Down
  5. Deny
  6. The Freak in Me
  7. Never Say Die
  8. Dying to Love
  9. Shoot Me
  10. God I Need Someone
  11. Now (Start Spreading the Word)


Line Up

  • Ji-In Cho – Vocals & Piano
  • Chris Siemons – Guitar
  • Frank Stumvoll – Bass
  • S.C. Kuschnerus – Drums



MySpace Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like