Last Red Ransom – “Sleep Well Sweet Divanity” (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

This 11-song debut from Atlanta based industrialized metal band Last R3d Ransom goes by the title of “Sleep Well Sweet Vanity” and it features an intoxicating array of styles and emotions throughout the 45-minute disc. “Sleep Well Sweet Vanity” presents the listener three distinctly different singing styles; the feminine voice of Charlotte Kelli, some screaming vocals and the clean male vocals provided by Saint. The overall pace is mid-tempo but the band does include blasts of aggression to go along with their melodic sensibilities that makes up a great deal of the material. The fact that Last R3d Ransom is only a three piece is also quite surprising, since they have a simply huge sound. Songs like, “Make Up”, “Black Gospel”, “One Word” and “Always Been”, “Synthetic Sleep”, the pounding aggression of “October” and the symphonic flair of “Lay Down” offers the listener an exciting array of material. After listening to this 11-song debut, my interest in Last R3d Ransom was most certainly heightened. The material on “Sleep Well Sweet Vanity” is quite strong and consistent throughout the duration. This Atlanta band is definitely worth checking out.  

Rating – 83/100



  1. Make Up
  2. Seamstress
  3. Black Gospel
  4. One Word
  5. Passport
  6. Always Been
  7. Synthetic Sleep
  8. October
  9. Lay Down
  10. Stay
  11. Empire 


Line Up

  • Charlotte Kelli – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards and Programming
  • Saint – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards and Programming
  • Adair – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like