Le Monnier – “Cynic Sister” (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Sometimes it is a refreshing change of pace to hear a new, young band get back to basics and play just good, no frills hard rock. Such is the case with the U.K. based band Le Monnier. The band is fronted by the soulful vocals of Alexandra Le Monnier and with their debut “Cynic Sister”, the band deliver almost 1-hour’s worth of heavy power rock that features some seriously crunchy guitar riffs, catchy melodies and some cool musical moments and worthwhile ballads. The band’s sound is somewhat reminiscent of good hard rock bands from the past, while still sounding current and relevant in today’s musical climate. There is plenty of good music to sift through on “Cynic Sister” – beginning with the orchestral intro of the opener “Grey Symphonic”. Don’t get too relaxed however as this quickly gives way to the flat-out up-tempo rocker “Your Greed” and it really sets things in motion nicely. The following two songs show off the diversity of the band. “No Power” has a lot of power compressed in about 2 and-a-half-minutes and “Ballet” begins with a pretty piano opening but quickly evolves into ‘power ballad’ territory. My two personal favorites on “Cynic Sister” and what I believe to be the albums strongest moments come back-to-back with the 8-minute “Bad Dream” and “Underground”. These two songs are sure be crowd pleasers in Le Monnier‘s live shows. Another aspect of the band that I was really impressed with, was the live, energetic feel that each and every song displays – you can’t help but feel the energy and power emanating from the speakers. Other highlights include: “Black Dot” (the band has filmed a video for this track – a solid choice, in my opinion), the pretty ballad “My Heart” and the title song “Cynic Sister” that brings this CD to a close. Personally, I find Le Monnier to be an instantly like-able band and the music on “Cynic Sister” has the ability to make some huge headway in the Rock/Metal world. The songs are well written, beautifully constructed and very diverse and can reach out to different genres of music fans. If you like good Hard Rock music, with plenty of powerful musicianship, diverse songs and strong vocals than by all means give “Cynic Sister” by Le Monnier a listen – you won’t be disappointed.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Grey Symphonic
  2. Your Greed
  3. No Power
  4. Ballet
  5. Save Yourself
  6. Kingyo
  7. Drawing the Line
  8. Black Dot
  9. My Heart
  10. Anxiety
  11. Bad Dream
  12. Underground
  13. Pink Filter
  14. Cynic Sister


Line Up

  • Alexandra Le Monnier – Vocals & Bass
  • Matt Keil – Guitar & Piano
  • Terry Anderson – Drums



MySpace Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like