Label: Twilight Zone Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Swiss symphonic metal band Legenda Aurea have already been around for a few years. In 2007 they released their debut CD with then singer Claudia Hofer. Now the band are back with a new CD titled “Ellipsis”. This CD marks the band debut of Simone Christinat. The band is completed by Odilo von Ins (Guitars), Michael Herkenrath (Bass), Renato Trinkler (Keyboards) and Philipp Eichenberger (Drums). “Ellipsis”  features 11-songs and 1 hour worth of music that is complete nirvana for fans of symphonic and progressive metal and the bands choice of new singer Simone is a solid one as she is a great addition to this band. The CD begins with the riff-heavy opener of “Reflections” and man what a great intro to this band for those (like myself) who have never heard them and for fans of their previous release, this is a strong welcome back moment. The next track “The Root” keeps the heaviness going and features some cool tempo changes. The piano piece at the end is very cool indeed. The next track “Parasomnia” provides no let-up whatsoever as this CD just continues to blast through the speakers. This is definitely a highlight. New Lead singer Simone has a diversified singing style as she can go from operatic to mid-range and it totally compliments the music and the rest of the band aren’t too shabby either. This riffs are heavy and biting and the music offers a definite cinematic and dramatic feel at times as well. “F44.8” continues with the heaviness but it is also one of the more unique songs on offered here and it definitely stands out. “Discouraged”, “Abscondence Prt. I”, “Abscondence Prt. II”, “Superbia” and the instrumental “Purgatory” are more brilliant moments before the dramatic 8-minute closer “Resurrection” ends things on a definite high note. After listening to this beautiful CD, I am definitely now a fan of Legenda Aurea. The material contained within is just so strong and the vocals of Simone Christinat quite impressive. There is a lot to like about this band but the main focus is definitely the songs and the band deliver a CDs worth of strong material that sounds better and better with each listen.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Reflections
  2. The Root
  3. Parasomnia
  4. F44.8
  5. Discouraged
  6. Abscondence Prt. I
  7. Superbia
  8. Outbreak
  9. Abscondence Prt. II
  10. Purgatory
  11. Resurrection


Line Up

  • Simone Christinat – Vocals
  • Odilo von Ins – Guitars
  • Renato Trinkler – Keyboards
  • Michael Herkenrath – Bass
  • Philipp Eichenberger – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site


Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)