Loneload – “Love Would Never Work” (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Loneload is the post-grunge, power pop, metal centric project of the multi-talented, multi-instrumentalist Laura Liparulo. On her debut CD she presents 10-songs and 30-minutes worth of music that incorporates a wide range of musical influences. Laura has an interesting singing style, which at times reminded me of Courtney Love.  Musically she does the bulk of the work on “Love Would Never Work”. The songs are pretty much straight-forward and remain in the same tempo throughout the CD. Songs like “Einstein Master”, “Bad Kitchen” and “Sick of the Scene” all deliver some fairly strong moments. “Rotten Lone” has an opening reminiscent of “Sweet Child O’ Mine” by Guns N’ Roses. I don’t know if that was intended, but the similarities are undeniable, this also happens to be my favorite song. Obviously Laura put in a lot of hard work on this project and that is to be commended. “Love Would Never Work” is an album that should fit in well with today’s rock and metal landscape. “Love Would Never Work” is currently a free download on the official Loneload web site.

Rating – 73/100



  1. Einstein Master
  2. Bad Kitchen
  3. Silly Dead
  4. Into the City Center
  5. Load of Pain
  6. Bill Gates
  7. Rotten Lone
  8. Sick of the Scene
  9. To Alex
  10. Goodnight


Line Up

  • Laura Liparulo – Lead and Backing Vocals, Lead and Rhythm Guitars, Harmonica and Midi Programming



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like