Lyriel – “Paranoid Circus” (2009)


Label : AFM Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Germany’s Folk Celtic Metal band has been in existence since 2003. Their debut album “Prisonworld” was released in 2005 followed by a DVD in that same year and then their sophomore effort “Autumntales” in 2006. Their 3rd album “Paranoid Circus” originally saw the light-of-day in 2009, but since Lyriel signed with the prestigious German label AFM it has been re-issued with bonus tracks via their new label. The first track “Opening” starts us off with a narrative intro in German and segues into the proper first song “Welcome” that really gets the ball rolling. “Like a Feather in the Wind” and “The Regret” keeps this Folk Metal juggernaut on course. “Elderberry and Lavender” is a bombastic track that quickly became a favorite. “Lullaby” is a pretty ballad that brings the tempo and pacing of “Paranoid Circus” down a few notches, before picking up once again with the powerful “Foeman’s Bride” and violin heavy, dramatic track “The Wolf”. Other highlights include: “So Long, My Love” (another killer ballad), “The Wheel of Fortuna” and “The Way To Nowhere”. In addition to new cover art, this re-issued version also comes with two bonus tracks: and orchestral version of “Paranoid Circus” and a re-mix of “The Regret”. Throughout the course of this 55-minute CD Lyriel weaves a magical tale that is enhanced by their use of such non-metal instruments as violins and cellos (which they employ full-time). “Paranoid Circus” is one of those special albums that one can only hope is the start of something exceptional for Lyriel. Since this album is two years old, I would suspect that it is only a matter of time until this promising outfit releases album number four.

Rating – 93/100



  1. Opening
  2. Welcome
  3. Like a Feather in the Wind
  4. The Regret
  5. Elderberry and Lavender
  6. Lullaby
  7. Foeman’s Bride
  8. The Wolf
  9. So Long, My Love
  10. My Unawakened Soul
  11. Paranoid Circus
  12. The Wheel of Fortuna
  13. The Way to Nowhere
  14. Another Time
  15. Conclusion
  16. Paranoid Circus (Orchestral Version) (Bonus Track)
  17. The Regret (Machin8 Remix) (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Jessica Thierjung – Vocals
  • Oliver Thierjung – Guitar & Backing Vocals
  • Linda Laukamp – Cello
  • Joon Laukamp – Violin
  • Martin Ahmann – Keyboards
  • Sven Engelmann – Bass
  • Daniel De Beer – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like