Madder Mortem – “Eight Ways” (2009)


Label : Peaceville Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Norway’s Madder Mortem have already been around since 1997. They were always a band that I would hear about and read about but I never actually had the pleasure sampling their music before now. They have just released their fifth album “Eight Ways” and I couldn’t have hope for a better introduction to a band. I have heard their music described as progressive metal, but that term is a bit misleading as it applies to this band. They play a strong mix of various styles and are one of those rare bands that are really tough to categorize. The opening track “Formaldehyde” begins with a dreamy, ethereal vibe, before developing into a heavier number, that just grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let go. The next song “The Little Things” is a big highlight. The acapella-like opening is a bit disarming, but very cool nonetheless. The track has a great melody over a rock solid guitar riff and many interesting tempo changes. The next track is “Armour”. This one starts off a bit slow than builds up some steam as the riffs get heavier and huge. If I am not mistaken the band did a video for this track. Good choice. “Resolution” and “A Different Kind of Hell” keep things on a steady track. Other highlights include: “Riddle Wants to Be”, “Where Dream and Day Collide”, “Get that Monster Out of Here”, “All I Know” and the album closing 9-minute epic “The Eighth Wave”. Every one of the 12-songs on this disc, features some heavy and crunchy guitar riffs. The vocals of Agnete M. Kirkevaag are really impressive and another highpoint that makes this CD so enjoyable. She has a very unique vocal style but she really puts her heart and soul in her vocal delivery and it is impossible not to sit up and take notice. You can feel the raw emotion emanating from your speakers.The music on “Eight Ways” may be tough to digest at first, but after a few listens, it really starts to sink in and grow. The songs are so well crafted and there is so much going on in each track that it makes listening to them a bit of an adventure. One thing is for certain, you have to respect the talent and effort that went into making the 12-tracks and 65-minutes worth of music on “Eight Ways”. It is definitely an adventure worth taking. Prog never sounded so good.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Formaldehyde
  2. The Little Things
  3. Armour
  4. Resolution
  5. A Different Kind of Hell
  6. Riddle Wants to Be
  7. Where Dream and Day Collide
  8. The Flesh, the Blood and the Man
  9. Get that Monster Out of Here
  10. Life, Lust & Liberty
  11. All I Know
  12. The Eighth Wave

Line Up 

  • Agnete M. Kirkevaag – Vocals
  • BP M. Kirkevaag – Guitar
  • Odd E. Ebbesen – Guitar
  • Tormod L. Moseng – Bass
  • Mads Solas – Drums


MySpace  * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like