Magdalen Graal – “Magdalen Graal” (2010)


Label : NE Productions

Review by Tony Cannella

Magdalen Graal is quite an accomplished and talented vocalist hailing from the U.K. She plays an avant-garde mix of metal and Gothic with elements of electronica as well. She is backed by a stellar line-up of musicians that can be heard on her self-titled debut release. The opening track “Behind You” is a good indication of what to expect throughout this 32-minute, 10-track release. The vocals of Magdalen are quite impressive as she demonstrates a great range throughout the CD and her style – which is on the operatic side of things – really gives the songs an added dimension. The third track “Together” is one of the highlights with it’s up-tempo style and more great vocals. Other highlights include: “There’s No End”, “Incredible” and the closing number “Moonlight Brightness” which is a beautiful piano ballad and ends things on a wistful note. Piano is featured prominently throughout the CD. Overall, I found myself enjoying this CD more and more with each listen. Maybe it could have benefited from a better production, but there is no denying the quality of the material. The CD is currently available as a free download on the official web site.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Behind You
  2. You Will Arrive
  3. Together
  4. There’s No End
  5. Incredible
  6. Touch Me
  7. Goodbye
  8. I’ll Fly Away
  9. King of World
  10. Moonlight Brightness


Line Up

  • Magdalen Graal – Vocals
  • Vega – Guitars
  • Zetar – Bass
  • Virgo – Dub, Synth & Piano
  • Drako – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like