Magion – Promo 2009


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

In 2008, the Dutch symphonic metal band Magion released their first demo. The band have already finished their full-length debut, which is called “Close to Eternity” and at the moment are looking for a suitable label in which to released it on. Until that album is set to be unleashed Magion has released this 3-song, 20-minute promo CD, which should come as a nice little pre-cursor of what to expect on “Close to Eternity” once it is released. The three songs on the EP, are all over the 6-minute mark and features plenty of top-notch musicianship. The opening number “Greed” get the proceedings off to an especially bombastic start as the dramatic and operatic vocals of the very talented frontwoman Myrthe van Beest come in. This song features a few changes in tempo throughout the course of the track. Next is “Forever Mine” and at 7-minutes it is the longest song presented here. It begins with some piano, before the rest of the band joins in, this song has a dramatic conceptual flavor with more stellar vocals from Myrthe. Again there are more tempo changes, giving their songs a definite progressive flavor to them. The final song, “War of Hearts” has a sinister, ominous quality to it. This is my favorite of the three songs and it definitely sees Magion firing on all cylinders here. A great way to end this all-too-short CD. The 3-songs presented here are very well done and have a professional quality to the presentation and overall sound. If this is what we can look forward to on “Close to Eternity”, than I am sure it will be worth the wait. Hopefully the band will get signed soon, and it will be well deserved. This band should definitely be well received by fans of Tarja-era Nightwish and After Forever, or if you just like symphonic metal, with female operatic vocals than give Magion a listen.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Greed
  2. Forever Mine
  3. War of Hearts


Line Up

  • Myrthe Van Beest – Vocals
  • Chris Vrij – Guitars & Growls
  • Arjen van der Toorn – Guitars
  • Walter Romberg – Keyboards
  • Menno Bruggeling – Bass
  • David de Waal – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * BandCamp * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like