Manzana – “Babies of Revolution” (2009)


Label: Dynamic Arts Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Manzana hail from Finland. Their press bio lists their musical genre as Grunge/Rock/Metal. I was a bit put off by the mention of “Grunge” being their musical style, before having heard their new CD. After listening to their newest effort (and second CD) titled “Babies of Revolution”, there seems to be no huge grunge influence that is apparent, but there is plenty of rock and metal featured throughout the 9-songs and 40-minutes of music on this CD. If there is a grunge influence it is only makes up a small part of “Babies of Revolution” as Manzana are able to pretty much incorporate different styles to the proceedings, which is a definite strength that the band displays, they are simply not bound to one genre or style. The opening track “Wash My Sins Away” is a pretty good indicator of this fact, with it’s machine gun style riffing and it’s pretty straightforward tempo and it’s memorable chorus. “Panda Girl” is next and is a very up-tempo number and one of the highlights. Other favorites include: “Sweet Revenge”, “End of the World” and “Fake”, all of these songs feature a certain attitude in both the lyrical department and the delivery. With “Babies of Revolution”, Manzana have put out a pretty good piece of work that can and should appeal to fans of different styles of music.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Wash My Sins Away
  2. Panda Girl
  3. Sweet Revenge
  4. Near Death Experience
  5. End of the World
  6. Fake
  7. Nothing as Whole as a Broken Heart
  8. World Is a Vampire
  9. Cherry Pit


Line Up

  • Piritta Lumous – Vocals
  • Henri Virsell – Guitars, Programming, Backing Vocals
  • Klaus Wirzenius – Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Heikki Malmberg – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like