Manzana – “Industrial Hippies” (2010)


Label : Tuupa Records/Playground Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Finland’s Manzana have already impressed with their second “Babies of Revolution”, now this hard rockin’ quartet returns with their sophomore effort “Industrial Hippies”. While “Babies of Revolution” had a definite appeal, it is “Industrial Hippies” that really showcases the full potential of Manzana. The album quickly shifts into high gear with the infectious charm of “Stay Away from My Universe”. This is just one of those songs that you can’t help but move and hum along to. The excellent 70s style classic rock style opening riff intros “Everything But You” as the song quickly settles into an unrelenting groove. “Good Times on the Run” begins with a biting guitar riff as the song morphs into one of the more commercial sounding numbers on “Industrial Hippies”. It would not be a stretch to say that I could definitely envision this song being played on the radio. “Mother Can’t Rock” takes on an aggressive, almost punk rock tone to it, this song perfectly demonstrates the diversity that Manzana are capable of. Other highlights: “Killer Baby”, “Evil Inside” and the album closer “Speed Up the Train”. With “Industrial Hippies”, Manzana has released a treat for fans that enjoy just good, adrenaline filled hard rock.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Stay Away from My Universe
  2. Everything but You
  3. Good Times on the Run
  4. Mother Can’t Rock
  5. Killer Baby
  6. Evil Inside
  7. Pretty Little Partner in Crime
  8. Demolition Doll
  9. Speed Up the Train


Line Up

  • Piritta Lumous – Vocals
  • Henri Virsell – Guitars, Programming, Backing Vocals
  • Klaus Wirzenius – Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Tomi Ylönen – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like