Masque of Death – “Ivory Cities” EP (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Spain the band Masque of Death play good melodic metal. The band have only been in existence since 2008 and despite their relatively short time together they have managed to record a debut EP that would give many longer running, more established acts a run for their money. Even though Masque of Death lists only three members in their line-up, bass was played by Sergio Rabanal who has since left the band prior to the release of “Ivory Cities”. “Ivory Cities” features only 6-tracks and a playing time of about 35-minutes, but it is the quality not the quantity that makes this such an enjoyable listen. The band combine pounding metal rhythms, great riffs and solos with the self-assured vocal prowess of Sofia Ruiz to create a solid piece of work. Sofia Ruiz provides her strong passionate vocals that she also combines with an extreme vocal style on many of the songs – it is pretty impressive how she manages to employ two vastly different vocal styles throughout the course of “Ivory Cities” and she does it quite well. It is that style that drives such songs as “Abeyance”, “Numedak”, “Alive” and “Darkest Eyes”. The final track “The Shape of Things to Come” is probably my favorite, with a cool acoustic intro that quickly gives way to a galloping metal riff that is unrelenting and quite addicting. The songs on “Ivory Cities” are pounding, relentless and sometimes fierce, with some great melodicism, while still maintaining an undeniable heaviness throughout. Sofia Ruiz‘s style is somewhat reminiscent of Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil and – at times – she also reminded me a bit Amy Lee from Evanescence. Masque of Death are not currently signed, but after listening to “Ivory Cities”, I have a feeling that will change soon enough. A very professional and satisfying debut from this Spanish band.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Abeyance
  2. Numedak
  3. Alive
  4. Black Red Roses
  5. Darkest Eyes
  6. The Shape of Things to Come


Line Up

  • Sofia Ruiz – Vocals & Rhythm Guitar
  • Carlos De Arquer – Lead Guitar
  • Abel Ramos – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like