Memoira – “Memoira” (2008)


Label : Nightmare Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Finland’s Memoira released their self-titled debut back in 2008. Since the album’s release the band have changed lead vocalists, so this is the only CD to feature Jemina Pitkälä as the singer and front person for Memoira. The style on this freshman outing by Memoira is progressive, Gothic metal. 9-songs and 41-minutes worth of music are featured throughout this disc as the band really deliver a promising and pleasing debut. After the brief intro track, “Arise”, Memoira get right into things with, “Experimenters Farewell”, a strong opening number that really draws you in and leaves you excited about what is to follow. That is excitement is only raised with the next track, the haunting, “Haunted”. The vocals of Jemina Pitkälä are solid and compliment the music very well as she adds her clear singing style to the songs. “Destiny Of Yours” and “Incurable” are two other highlights but my favorite track would have to be “Shadow On My Name”, this track features some male vocals provided by keyboardist Lassi Nuolivaara – who at times reminds me of Ville from another great Finnish band, Sentenced. His vocals work great in conjunction with Jemina‘s and this song features a bit of orchestration and some great guitar work. the trio of “Half Alive”, “Liberation” and “Amortization” bring things to a stirring conclusion. The songs on “Memoira”, are melodic and dark with some some orchestral moments present as well. After listening to “Memoira” it is easy to see the potential of this band. Well written songs, solid musicianship and great vocals combine to make this an excellent debut. The band are said to be working on their second album and first with their new vocalist Kati Rantala, it should be interesting to hear how the band progresses on their sophomore release.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Arise (Intro)
  2. Exprimenters Farewell
  3. Haunted
  4. Destiny of Yours
  5. Incurable
  6. Shadow On My Name
  7. Half Alive
  8. Liberation
  9. Amortazation


Line Up

  • Jemina Pitkälä – Vocals
  • Jani Haanpää – Guitars
  • Marko Heurlin – Guitar
  • Lassi Nuolivaara – Keyboards & Vocals
  • Jussi Lamminharju – Bass 
  • Timo Fetula – Drums  



MySpace * Site

You May Also Like