Monika Reeve – “Leached Ashes” (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Monika Reeve is a singer/guitarist from Brazil. Her new album is titled “Leached Ashes” and features plenty of frenzied guitar work. “Leached Ashes” is a relatively short CD. The whole thing lasts for almost 25-minutes and features 12-songs. The longest track, “Resistance of Time” is just over 3-minutes long. There are several distinctive vocal styles at work here but the main focus is on the heavy guitar playing. The songs for the most part are heavy with some softer moments thrown in from time-to-time.It is a pretty relentless 25-minutes worth of music. In researching this artist on the net, I came to the conclusion that information on Monika Reeve is pretty scarce. Suffice it to say that “Leached Ashes” is a CD that may not be for everyone.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Stomp 76
  2. Break the Revolution
  3. Timeshare
  4. Favela
  5. Fuck the Blues
  6. Resistance of Time
  7. Incoma
  8. Satch (Satriani Tribute)
  9. Sickless
  10. St. Daime
  11. Whispers
  12. I Keep Below


Line Up

  • Monika Reeve – Vocals, Guitar



MySpace ReverbNation * Twitter

You May Also Like