My Black Light – “Human Haze” (2010)


Label : Pirames International/Massacre Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Melodic Symphonic Metal and Gothic Metal come together on the debut album “Human Maze” from Italy’s My Black Light. “Human Maze” features 11-songs and close to 45-minutes worth of music that boasts tons of melody and blasts of heaviness at certain points. Vocalist Monica Primo has a clean, soaring vocal style and she also has the ability to hit some rather high notes on “Human Maze”, that she is only too willing to display. “Human Maze” also features its share of complex numbers, elements of prog metal and virtuosic musicianship. Aside from the strong vocals provided by Monica, My Black Light also showcases some great lead guitar playing by Emanuele Rossi.  Highlights include: “Inner World”, “A Lie for Eternity” “Guiding Light”, “Ti Sento” and “Being Human”. In the end, My Black Light is another promising band to come from Italy. “Human Maze” is a very good debut for this Italian band. They don’t mind taking the listener on a vast musical journey with a few surprises along the way. 

Rating – 82/100



  1. Inner World
  2. Detriny
  3. The Abstainer
  4. A Lie for Eternity
  5. Noise for Sale
  6. Guiding Light
  7. Ideal
  8. Deadline
  9. Ti Sento (Matia Bazar Cover)
  10. Energy Core
  11. Being Human


Line Up

  • Monica Primo – Vocals
  • Emanuele Rossi – Guitar
  • Rudy Coda Bertetto – Keyboards, Vocals
  • Marco Peraldo – Bass
  • Edoardo Giordani – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like