Pergana – “The Mirror of Silence” EP (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Paraguay, Pergana previously released the demo “The Angels’ Light” in 2008. Now, the Power Metal band returns with a new singer Audrey Laure and a new EP titled “The Mirror of Silence”. In addition to Audrey, guitarist Mauro Mercado and Keyboardist Adrian Benegas the line-up for this EP is completed by the veteran rhythm section of Alex (drums) and Oliver (Bass) Holzwarth from Germany. “Let the Silence Sing” opens the 4-song, 21-minute EP in fine fashion. I hear some similarities to Edenbridge. Particularly the vocals of Audrey Laure remind me of Sabine Edelsbacher from the Austrian symphonic power metal band. The interplay between the lead guitars and keyboards on this track are pretty cool, giving the song some prog-like elements. The start of the next song “Frozen Heart” begins with an ominously darker feel, before the guitars kick in and the tempo picks up and the song transforms into an up-tempo gem of a song. “Romance Secrete” is a classical tinged ballad and definitely a change of pace from the hard hitting power metal that the band exhibits. Pergana pulls out all of the stops on the pounding final track “The Eyes of a Beast”. This song sees Audrey sharing vocals with a male singer who adds a classic metal voice to the song. This is probably the heaviest song here and a definite highlight for me. “The Mirror of Silence” is a potent introduction from Pergana. Overall, the songs are well done and a very worthy addition to the power metal genre. “The Mirror of Silence” is being offered as a free download at their official site.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Let the Silence Sing
  2. Frozen Heart
  3. Romance Secrets
  4. The Eyes of a Beast


Line Up

  • Audrey Laure – Vocals
  • Mauro Mercado – Guitars
  • Adrian Benegas – Keyboards
  • Oliver Holzwarth – Bass
  • Alex Holzwarth – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like