Perpetuate – “Perpetuate” EP (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Canada’s Power Metal outfit Perpetuate formed in early 2010. The band is fronted by the fiery and energetic vocals of Kim McInnis (who also plays keyboards) on their self-titled debut 6-song EP. The music of Perpetuate is a Power Metal fans dream through-and-through with Kim’s soprano melodies taking charge, amidst of heavy guitar riffs that keep coming at a fast and furious pace. The opening duo of “Above and Beyond” and the wonderfully heavy, yet nostalgic “Inside Out” gets things started in a huge way. “Inside Out” especially, quickly and undoubtedly became one of my favorite songs. “Chrysalis” offers some great classic sounding guitars to open the track, the addition of keyboards at the start gives it a 70s prog rock feeling to it, before the galloping power house riffs takes charge and we are off to the races. “The Last Stand” is next and probably the heaviest song here, but does have a moment of serenity before the song picks up the heaviness once again. The epic – almost 9-minute – track, “Medusa” is up next and is one of the more complex numbers here. This song features a number of tempo changes, some of Kim’s best – and most diverse – vocal work, some piano and just a big epic sound. That unmistakable riff kicks off the final track, a cover of Iron Maiden’s classic, “The Trooper”. This is a great cover that features a duet between Kim and Jeff Klingbeil of the band Betrayer. Musically, I think you could probably site Iron Maiden as an influence for Perpetuate. Some of the songs certainly do have a Maiden-esque feel to them. The end result of this fine debut from Perpetuate is an album from a band that does the Power Metal genre a great service. It is one of those albums that get better with each subsequent listen and one that demonstrates a great heart and love of power metal.

Rating – 94/100



  1. Above and Beyond
  2. Inside Out
  3. Chrysalis
  4. The Last Stand
  5. Medusa
  6. The Trooper (Iron Maiden Cover)


Line Up

  • Kim McInnis – Vocals & Keyboards
  • James Hush – Guitars & Vocals
  • Chris Rafinski – Guitars & Vocals
  • Calvin Love – Bass & Vocals
  • Michael Wiznuk – Drums & Vocals



ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like