Sabbath Assembly – “Ye Are Gods” (2012)


Label : Svart Records/The Ajna Offensive

Review by Luisa Mercier

Four are the entities of God: Christ, Jehova, Satan and Lucifer and each of them can be found in human nature shaped as hate, love, joy and pain. This vision, that reminds me of the Manichean Church of the origins of Christianity, was typical of the Process Church of the Final Judgement, one of the most unique and controversial cults of the latest decades. It was rumored to be linked to Charles Manson and Satanism, but now it is dissolved and what remains are its rites. Sabbath Asssembly have put in music the most sacred texts of the Church and also have revamped some of their most revered hymns, stuff reserved to the most important members. The songwriting is quite simple, mostly based on acoustic music, to be played in church and it is also background to reading of sacred texts. The overall experience is quite alienating as all good cults should be while Jamie Myers vocals are sweet, versatile, really beautiful, I appreciated that are so different from the vocals usually found in occult acts. Genesis P-Orridge delivers readings throughout the album, giving the effect of call-and-response between priest and flock.  I do not know the exact aim of this album, maybe it is just a tribute to the Church, but it is powerfully effective.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Let Us All Give Praise and Validation
  2. We Come From the One
  3. Bless Our Lord and Master
  4. We Give Our Lives
  5. Exit
  6. Christ You Bring the End
  7. And the Clarion Calls
  8. In the Time of Abaddon II
  9. Transcendence
  10. For the Love of the Gods


Line Up

  • Jamie Myers – vocals
  • Dave Nuss – guitars



BandCamp * Facebook 


You May Also Like