Saved by Ruin – “New Perspective” (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Saved By Ruin are an all girl metal band from Denver, Colorado. Their debut album is titled “New Perspective” and it showcases the bands raw, energetic metal style. After the brief intro, “Perineum”, Saved By Ruin blast into “Historic Unravel”, a heavy barnstormer of an opener that showcases the different vocal styles of Angelique Madrid. She certainly has a multi-faceted vocal style, as she alternates between an extreme Death/Black Metal style and a clean style. It is quite remarkable that it is even the same person. Next up, is “Right”. A great riff highlights this tune and once again the two vocal styles are at war with one another here. Probably my favorite song is, “The Revenge Song”, this track starts out with an almost 70’s classic rock opening riff before quickly evolving into a song with punk-like intensity. Other highlights include: “Wicked”, “Blood”, “That Said” and the closer “Do”. With “New Perspective”, Saved By Ruin has unleashed a screaming, confrontational alterna-metal record. Among these 10-songs, you will find an album fueled by raw intensity and a punk-like exuberance.

Rating – 77/100



  1. Perineum
  2. Historic Unravel
  3. Right
  4. Wicked
  5. Blood
  6. Sinking
  7. Unbroken
  8. The Revenge Song
  9. That Said
  10. Do


Line Up

  • Angelique Madrid – Vocals
  • Hayley Parker – Guitar
  • Fritz – Guitar
  • Shonna Montoya – Bass
  • Laura Johnson-LeDoux – Drums



MySpace  * Facebook

You May Also Like