Setanera – “Spettralia” EP (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

What is it about the country of Italy that is producing so many great metal bands these days? 2011 is already shaping up to be a great year in the world of Female fronted metal. Thanks to bands like Setanera who has just released their debut EP “Spettralia”. “Spettralia” features 5-songs worth of high quality symphonic, Gothic metal that never has a problem in maintaining the listener’s interest throughout its duration. Beginning with the super melodic “Black River”, “Spettralia” is off to a strong start. Setanera doesn’t let up on the next two songs, “Spettralia” and “Lie” are instantly like-able. “Journey to the Freedom (Interlude)” is a beautifully played piece that only lasts about a minute and features only piano and the vocals of Valentina Bucci and leads us into the final number “Journey to the Freedom”, which brings “Spettralia” to a great bombastic conclusion. “Spettralia” by Setanera is a wonderful if all too short debut from this talented Italian band. Hopefully in 2011, we will get to hear a full-length from this excellent band. 

Rating – 90/100



  1. Black River
  2. Spettralia (Edit)
  3. Lie
  4. Journey to the Freedom (Interlude)
  5. Journey to the Freedom


Line Up 

  • Valentina Bucci – Vocals
  • Alex Merola – Guitars
  • Marco Magistri – Keyboards & Synth
  • Matteo Twice – Bass
  • Maurilio Di Stefano – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like