Shadowgarden – “Ashen” (2010)


Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Shadowgarden is the new Gothic Metal project put together by Johan Ericson of the Swedish band Draconian. Their debut album is titled “Ashen” and features contributions from Johan’s Draconian band mate Lisa Johansson at points throughout the CD. Actually, Lisa’s contributions are minimal, limited mainly to providing harmony vocals at various points throughout the CD. It is on the third song, “With Love and a Bullet” where she makes her first appearance and provides the song with her exquisite lead vocals. This is without a doubt, one of the very best songs “Ashen” has to offer. The songs on “Ashen” have a dark quality to them, both lyrically and musically. I would compare them to the great Finnish band Sentenced. Songs like “Shadowplay”, “Last Summer” and “1:40 AM” are sure to please fans of the Gothic Metal crowd, who need their fix of dark, foreboding music.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Shadowplay
  2. Last Summer
  3. With Love and a Bullet
  4. The Whithering of Mine
  5. Sorrow’s Kitchen
  6. 1:40 AM
  7. Murky Waters
  8. Way Down Low
  9. Empty Days
  10. Slowmotion Apocalypse


Line Up

  • Lisa Johansson – Vocals (Session Member)
  • Johan Ericson – Guitars, Vocals
  • Andreas Hindenäs – Guitars
  • Daniel Flores – Drums (Session Member)



MySpace * Facebook

You May Also Like