Shadowside – “Dare to Dream” (2009)


Label: LCM/Sky Blue Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Brazil’s Shadowside made quite an impression on me with their fantastic 2006 CD “Theatre of Shadows”. I was instantly drawn to the power and passion of that CD and the fierce vocals of Dani Nolden. The band plays no frills unadulterated heavy metal and they have returned with their newest CD “Dare to Dream”. Having already been a fan of the previous CD, I looked forward to this one with much anticipation. “Nation Hollow Mind” is the frenzied opener and it sets a great tone for what is to follow. This song has a great chorus and melody that sinks it’s claws into you and won’t let go. Rapheal Mattos also deliveres a fantastic guitar solo here. “In the Night” is next and is great showcase for the powerful vocals of Dani Nolden. Her voice is just so strong and it has so much power that she is fast becoming one of my favorite vocalists and she will definitely make her mark in the metal genre. There is no let up whatsoever as “Last Thoughts” pounds through the speakers. More undeniable power and rhythms that has been the hallmark of this band. This song just has a relentless melody. “Hideaway” is next and although it starts off slow it quickly builds up steam and settles nicely into a mid-tempo rocker with nice pace to it. Next up is the first single release “Baby in the Dark” and it’s easy to see why this was chosen as the single. It definitely has the ability to appeal to a wide range of metal and rock fans in general. “Ready or Not” is next is instantly a favorite thanks to it’s catchy chorus that just sticks in your head after one listen. “Time to Say Goodbye” is a nice ballad that offers a change of pace and this track really stands out. Other highlights include: “Memories”, “Wings of Freedom”, “Life Denied” and the final track “Dare to Dream”. I am not sure if Shadowside has surpassed “Theatre of Shadows” – that would be a monumental task but with “Dare to Dream” they have – without a doubt – recorded a worthy follow-up. “Dare to Dream” features 11-songs and 47-minutes worth of high quality metal from a band that is also of a very high quality.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Nation Hollow Mind
  2. In the Night
  3. Last Thoughts
  4. Hideaway
  5. Baby in the Dark
  6. Ready or Not
  7. Memories
  8. Wings of Freedom
  9. Time to Say Goodbye
  10. Life Denied
  11. Dare to Dream


Line Up 

  • Dani Nolden – Vocals
  • Raphael Mattos – Guitars
  • Edu Simoes – Bass
  • Fabio Buitvidas – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter  * Site

You May Also Like