Sinergy – “To Hell and Back” (2000)


Label : Metal Mind Production

Review By Tony Cannella

After a number of line-up changes that saw Kimberly Goss and Alexi Laiho as the only returning members from their first album, Sinergy returned in 2000 with their second release, “To Hell and Back”. Joining the original members were bassist/vocalist Marco Hietala, who would later go on to join Nightwish and play a major part in their success. “To Hell and Back Again” really saw the band begin to hit their stride and emerge as a serious entity in the world of melodic, power metal. This album takes all of the good moments from their 1999 debut and expands upon them, and not to mention the songs are totally killer, all of that can be heard on this re-issue from Metal Mind Productions.The first two songs, “The Bitch Is Back” and “Midnight Madness” are decent enough, but it is with the third track “Lead Us to War” that the album really starts to take off. This song opens with just a massive guitar riff and some great vocal work performed by Kimberly Goss and Marco Hietala. “Laid to Rest” is next and another strong moment, it starts off as a ballad but then quickly progresses into a mid-tempo, melodic masterpiece. The next two songs “Gallowmere” and “Return to the Fourth World” are two of the heaviest tracks “To Hell and Back” have to offer, both are truly relentless and the guitar work of Alexi Laiho is really exceptional on these songs. Other highlights include: “Last Escape” and “Wake Up in Hell”, these are two more excellent songs that showcase one of the best things about Kimberly Goss (besides her voice) and that is her ability to write first-rate lyrics and these two songs are proof of that. The band also perform a pretty cool cover of the Blondie tune “Hanging On the Telephone”. The three best moments from “Beware the Heavens”, “Venomous Vixens”, “The Warrior Princess” and the great “Razor Blade Salvation” are included as bonus tracks. With “To Hell and Back”, you can definitely see the progression of Sinergy as compared to their first album “Beware the Heavens”. Even though this was only their second release, Sinergy have all the confidence of a veteran band, and it shows on the overall quality of the songs on “To Hell and Back”. Just a great CD!

Rating – 85/100



  1. The Bitch Is Back
  2. Midnight Madness
  3. Lead Us to War
  4. Laid to Rest
  5. Gallowmere
  6. Return to the Fourth World
  7. Last Escape
  8. Wake Up in Hell
  9. Hanging on the Telephone (Blondie cover)
  10. Venomous Vixens (Bonus Track)
  11. The Warrior Princess (Bonus Track)
  12. Razor Blade Salvation (Bonus Track)


Line Up 

  • Kimberly Goss – Vocals
  • Alexi Laiho – Lead and Rhythm Guitars
  • Roope Latvala – Lead and Rhythm Guitars
  • Marco Hietala – Bass and Backing Vocals
  • Tommi Lillman – Drums




You May Also Like