Sister Sin – “Switchblade Serenades” (2008)


Label : Victory Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Sweden comes Sister Sin. They play no frills, in-your-face, basic hard rock/heavy metal ala Motorhead and AC/DC. The great thing about those bands is that you always know what you are going to get on a Motorhead and AC/DC record, there is something very reassuring about that. The same can probably be said for Sister Sin on their debut full-length “Switchblade Serenades”, out now on Victory Eecords. There is nothing groundbreaking on this CD, just heavy rock n’ roll in it’s purest form.  “Beat the Street” opens the CD with it’s buzz saw-like guitar riffs. This is one of the better songs to be featured on this 11-song and 44-minute CD. From there the band launch into another highlight, the equally heavy and energetic “Death Will Greet Us”. A great song with a killer melody. The parade of power and heavy riffs keep on coming with the next track “One Out Of Ten”. Other highlights include: “Breaking New Ground”, “On Parole”, “Hostile Violent”, “Love/Hate” and “Eye to Eye”. The band also include a great cover of “Make My Day” by – appropriately enough – the legendary Motorhead. The vocals of Liv pack a huge wallop and gives the songs plenty of force and aggression. After listening to “Switchblade Serenades” it is no wonder why this Swedish band have cultivated such a loyal fan base over the last few years. From beginning-to-end, this is a near flawless CD.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Beat the Street
  2. Beath Will Great Us
  3. One Out of Ten
  4. Breaking New Ground
  5. On Parole
  6. Make My Day
  7. Hostile Violent
  8. Switchblade Serenade
  9. Love/Hate
  10. All System Go!
  11. Eye to Eye


Line Up

  • Liv Jagrell – Vocals
  • Jimmy Hiltula – Guitars
  • Chris Casey – Bass 
  • Dave Sundberg – Drums  



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like