Sister Sin – “True Sound of the Underground” (2010)


Label : Victory Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Sweden, Sister Sin has previously released two full-length albums. Their last one, “Switchblade Serenades” was released in 2008 and really helped to get the band a lot of press throughout the world. Their newest – and third – release is titled “True Sound of the Underground” and continues in the vein of their previous effort. The songs are played with hard and heavy intensity, some straight forward aggression and a great deal of attitude.“True Sound of the Underground” really rips from the opening minutes of the title track. The band display a simplistic style, reminiscent of Motorhead or AC/DC and the vocals of Liv are simply crushing throughout the new CD. She may not have the technical skills of some singers, but in what she lacks in technicality she more than makes up for in heart and attitude. The next two tracks, “Outrage” and “Better Than Them” keep the adrenalin level going upwards and are two of my favorites. The next track was a huge surprise. Usually when bands decide to cover a song they choose an older favorite of theirs. Not so on this one as the band decide to take on the track “24/7” from one of the more recent albums by former Accept frontman UDO. From there “True Sound…” just proceeds at a rapid pace as the band tears through other highlights: “Heading for Hell”, “The Devil I Know”, “Times Aren’t A-Changing” and the final track, “Beat ‘Em Down”. Make no mistake about it, this is as straight-forward and raw as it gets. Don’t expect anything pretty and absolutely no ballads on “True Sound of the Underground”. Fans who liked their previous release will no doubt love this one. Sister Sin has not veered too far off the path of “Switchblade Serenades” with “True Sound of the Underground”. Their new one is perhaps a more intense, meaner animal than their previous one. That is all open to debate, but one thing is for certain, with “True Sound of the Underground”, Sister Sin has delivered a more than worthy follow up to “Switchblade Serenades”.

Rating – 93/100



  1. Sound of the Underground
  2. Outrage
  3. Better Than Them
  4. 24/7
  5. Heading for Hell
  6. I Stand Alone
  7. Built to Last
  8. The Devil I Know
  9. Times Aren’t A-Changing
  10. Nailbiter
  11. Beat ‘em Down


Line Up

  • Liv Jagrell – Vocals
  • Jimmy Hiltula – Guitars
  • Benton Wiberg – Bass 
  • Dave Sundberg – Drums  



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like