Stark – “Face to the Floor” (2010)


Label : Kicking and Screaming Music

Review by Tony Cannella

New York City’s Stark are a three piece band that play high energy, straight-forward, hard rock music with a bit of punk edge to them. Their newly released third album is titled “Race to the Floor” and it features 9-songs and 31-minutes worth of music that is completely and utterly dripping with attitude and swagger. It is all pretty much your basic rock and roll, yet it all feels new, thanks in large part to this trio’s enthusiasm and energy that is quite evident on each and every song. The high adrenalin opener, “On the Edge” kicks things off in a huge, energetic way. “Get It” is next and is one the best the CD has to offer. Just a fast paced, catchy number that features a pretty cool groove running throughout the whole song. These songs rock hard as can be heard on: “Getting Along”, “Wasting Air”, “Drunkaholic”, “What It Is” and “Nightmares”. The closing number, “Puttin’ Out Your Fire” ends things on a high note and leaves the listener wanting more. “Race to the Floor” is chock full of powerful riffs, cool solos and the underrated vocals of Lani Ford. Just great and passionate performances all the way around from this power trio. “Race to the Floor” is a gritty, riff-heavy rock record that never gives the listener a chance to come up for air until the last note is played. A very good effort from this NYC based band and a CD that comes highly recommended. It can be ordered via CD Baby.

Rating – 85/100



  1. On the Edge
  2. Get It
  3. Getting Along
  4. Wasting Air
  5. Drunkaholic
  6. What It Is
  7. Nightmares
  8. End of the Line
  9. Puttin’ Out Your Fire


Line Up

  • Lani Ford – Lead Vocals & Bass
  • Joe Hogan – Guitar & Backing Vocals
  • Eric Robel – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like