Stream of Passion – “Darker Days” (2011)


Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The multi-national Progressive metal band Stream of Passion first gained notoriety for featuring Arjen Anthony Lucassen in their ranks. Following his surprising departure the band has decided to soldier on. Their new album “Darker Days” is the second in the post Arjen era and fourth overall. Opening with “Lost”, Stream of Passion creates an atmospheric opener, featuring vocalist Marcela Bovio’s stunningly strong vocals – I mean she has long been one the best kept secrets in the Femme Metal universe and hopefully after people hear this, she will get her due. In addition to vocals she also contributes violin. The moody number “Reborn” is next is just a slickly played, classy track. The straight-forward power riffing starts off the next track “Collide”, before the song turns into an ultra melodic track. “The Scarlet Mark” is next and has a cool symphonic vibe to it. Other highlights: “Spark” (a pretty ballad featuring only Marcela’s vocals accompanied by piano), “Our Cause”, “Darker Days”, “This Moment” and “The Mirror” but trust me, there is a lot of what can be considered ‘highlights’ here. There is no denying that Stream of Passion is quite good at what they do and they seem to be getting better with each album. I am hesitant to proclaim “Darker Days” as their best album, but if it is not, it certainly ranks up there.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Lost
  2. Reborn
  3. Collide
  4. The Scarlet Mark
  5. Spark
  6. Our Cause
  7. Darker Days
  8. Broken
  9. This Moment
  10. Closer
  11. The Mirror
  12. Nadie Lo Ve
  13. The World Is Ours


Line Up

  • Marcela Bovio – Vocals & Electric Violin
  • Eric Hazebroek – Rhythm Guitars
  • Stephan Schultz – Lead Guitars
  • Johan van Stratum – Bass
  • Jeffrey Revet – Keyboards
  • Martijn Peters – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like