System Divide – “The Conscious Sedation” (2010)


Label : Metal Blade Records

Review by Tony Cannella

System Divide is a multi-cultural band with members from America, Israel and Belgium. The band has recently signed to Metal Blade Records and is set to unleash their full-length debut, “The Conscious Sedation”. System Divide play Melodic Death Metal but the term Death Metal may be selling the band a little short. The music certainly has got the aggression and brutality of Death Metal, yet they also add tons of melody to the mix, thanks to the bands female singer Miri Milman. Being classified as Death Metal may scare off potential fans and that would be a shame because System Divide just simply rips and really should procure a following beyond the Death Metal scope. From the frenzied opener of “Vagaries of Perception” to the furious 7-minute closer “Stagnant Progression” and everything in between, there is no let up throughout this 46-minute CD. And through it all System Divide manage to keep things interesting. The brutal male vocals of Sven De Caluwe mix effortlessly with the more melodic (and might I add, awe-inspiring) female vocals of Miri Milman. “The Conscious Sedation” is a crusher of full-length debut from System Divide. I love some Death Metal as much as the next guy but I’ll be the first to admit that I am, absolutely, in no way an authority on the genre but System Divide won me over with their ability to mix good melodic moments whilst still bringing a decidedly heavy and aggressive tone with the music. This one, I am sure will be dominating my iPod for months to come.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Vagaries of Perception
  2. An Intoxicating Affair
  3. Echoes
  4. The Apex Doctrine
  5. Lethargy
  6. (N)ether
  7. Hollow
  8. Purity In Imperfection
  9. Repentiforget
  10. The Conscious Sedation
  11. Stagnant Progression


Line Up

  • Miri Milman – Vocals
  • Sven De Caluwe – Vocals
  • Cole Martinez – Guitar/Sounds
  • Michael Wilson – Guitar
  • Andrew Lenthe – Bass
  • Mike Heller – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like