Tapping the Vein – “The Damage” (2002)


Label : Metal Mind Productions

Review by Tony Cannella

It is hard to believe that the debut album from Philadelphia’s Tapping The Vein first saw the light-of-day, way back in 2002. This CD managed to slip by pretty much under-the-radar for the most part, but now thanks to the good people at Metal Mind Productions it has been given a new life, for more metal heads to discover and enjoy. Tapping the Vein shows off their skills in combining basic rock elements with electronic fundamentals from the very first track, “The Ledge”, which turns out to be a pretty darn cool opener. “Butterfly” is next and continues to move things in a positive direction. This song starts off slower in tempo, before picking up the pace and becoming one of the best songs “The Damage” has to offer. Other songs of interest include: “Sugar Falls”, “Beautiful” and the excellent closing number “Falling In”. Metal Mind is deserving of massive amounts of credit for continuing to give overlooked albums a second chance. Since the release of “The Damage”, Tapping The Vein has come out with another pretty good release, “Another Day Down” but it is “The Damage” that got the ball rolling for this underrated Philly band.

Rating – 79/100



  1. The Ledge
  2. Butterfly
  3. Sugar Falls
  4. Beautiful
  5. Again
  6. The Damage
  7. Fingertips
  8. Broken
  9. Hurricane
  10. Everything
  11. Falling In


Line Up

  • Heather Thompson – Vocals
  • Mark Burkert – Guitar
  • Joe Rolland – Bass
  • Eric Fisher – Drums, Keyboards & Programming



MySpace * ReverbNationFacebook

You May Also Like