The Road to Consciousness – “The Road to Consciousness” (2011)


Label : Fakto Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Road to Consciousness is the new project from mastermind Bernard Daubresse (ex-Free Launch, Lovelorn). The 13-song, 60-minute CD features a vast array of musicians and contributors from around the metal globe. It is amazing to see how many great musicians have lent their massive talents to this ambitious project. Road to Consciousness is a big melodic, symphonic metal project, that I am sure will appeal to fans of the genre. With around 20 musicians featured on the album, you may think that it would be difficult to find something for all of them to do, but that is not the case, as each musician adds their own unique stamp to the proceedings.There is a common theme running through each of the songs, based on the human condition and problems, thoughts that maybe the listener themselves has experienced. The epic 4 part track “Road to Consciousness” brings the album to a grandiose conclusion as the album just builds and builds up to that point and the four part closer really pushed it over the top for me. But there are many solid moments to be heard lead up to the finale. Songs like “The Middle Path”, “Mirror Mirror”, “I Am God” and “Jennifer” all display the passion and heart that went into this project. Road to Consciousness is everything that the symphonic metal fan should love. One has to wonder if this is only a one off, I certainly hope not because it would be cool to see where Road to Consciousness go from here.

Rating – 93/100



  1. Renunciation
  2. The Middle Path
  3. Mirror Mirror
  4. I Am God
  5. The Wait
  6. Jennifer
  7. Starchild
  8. In A War With My Best Friend
  9. The Naked Ape
  10. Road To Consciousness Part I – Even a Rose
  11. Road To Consciousness Part II – The Limbo
  12. Road To Consciousness Part III – The Choice
  13. Road To Consciousness Part IV – Consciousness 


Line Up


  • Kristell Lowagie (ex Skeptical Minds, Lovelorn, Joliet)
  • Marja Supponen (Rhinestone Lives)
  • Jamie-Lee Smit (Azylya)
  • Justine Daaé (Ellyose)
  • Lauryn Gaet (ex Aedden, classical solo artist)
  • Laura Crowet (ex Before Silence)
  • Dr Benja (Taboo for Tatoo, Captain Oats)
  • Pascal ” Wan” Vanhoren (La Poupée Sanglante)
  • Serge Vandepoel (Crime 7)
  • Leny Andrieux (Scarin Myself)
  • Krys Denhez (Jarell)
  • Ville Laaksonen (singer and arranger) 



  • Bernard Daubresse (ex Free Launch, Lovelorn) – Songwriting, Guitar, Bass & Keyboards
  • Valery Granson (15 Reasons) – Solo Guitar
  • Eric Renwart (Pixelrace) – Solo Guitar
  • Nico Claus (Scarin Myself) – Solo Guitar
  • Olivier Van Houte aka Bronson Cuvelier (The Temple, The Moonshine Playboys) -Hammond Organ
  • Yves Huts (Epica) – Orchestral arrangements
  • Manu De Ros (The Temple) – Bass 
  • Kris De Bie (Patriarch) – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation *  Facebook * Site

You May Also Like