theNAME – “Enchained” EP (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

This 4-piece Dutch band goes by the unique moniker of theNAME. They have already released a few CDs and their latest 4-song EP is titled “Enchained”. They can best be described as a melodic metal band with a definitive groove running through their songs. “Enchained” features all of these elements and more, throughout the 19-minutes worth of playing time that the listener is treated to. The opening track “Enchained” is a bombastic, groove-laden track that features just a monstrous guitar riff, that is really an excellent opener. The vocals of Hadassa are powerful and energetic. The next track “One” starts off with a nice slow pace, before the speed picks up with another powerful guitar riff. There are some male ‘screaming’ background vocals present throughout the CD and it definitely adds positively to the songs. “Mirror” is next and continues the out-and-out infectious nature of the music. The last of the 4-songs is “No Retractation” and it closes things on a mellow, acoustic style note. Hadassa‘s vocals are really beautiful on this one and even though it is the slowest in tempo of the 4-songs presented here, it is my favorite. theNAME are a band that I have been hearing about for a number of years, but this is my first exposure to them and I have to say that I was impressed. It is a somewhat refreshing change-of-pace to hear a female-fronted band that doesn’t have the obligatory operatic singer – I love that stuff too, but once in a while it is good to hear a band playing, no frills melodic hard rock & metal with a singer who is more concerned with delivering strong vocals, without the necessary vocal gymnastics. theNAME are one such band and “Enchained” is one such CD.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Enchained
  2. One
  3. Mirror
  4. No Retractation


Line Up

  • Hadassa – Vocals
  • Silas – Lead Guitars
  • Mike – Bass
  • Michel – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like