Label : Femme Metal Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Here we are again. This is the latest compilation album put out by Femme Metal Records and like the ones before it, this is as comprehensive a look into the Femme Metal scene that you are going to find anywhere. “Melody and Malice” features 32-songs and over two hours worth of music spread out over two discs, in short, this compilation is packed to capacity with some great music. The beauty of compilations such as this is that it displays how wide and varied the Femme Metal genre is. All styles are well represented here, from power metal to symphonic metal to goth metal to prog metal to thrash metal, well you get the point. CD 1 begins with the modernized metal warfare of Deadlock with the track “Virus Jones”. Exoterik is next with the great track “Revive”, another modern metal song with some great moments of melody. Kittie is ferocious as ever with “Cut Throat” and In This Moment are on hand with the ultra melodic “A Star Crossed Wasteland”. Mongrel contributes the chugging, marching vibe of “Zombie War”. This compilation does a great job in mixing the well known bands such as Kittie, Lacuna Coil and Arch Enemy with some of the more obscure acts like Regardless of Me, Katra and Alerion and it all flows together quite nicely. The first disc is completed by the raucous hard rock of Jaggedy Anne (who also gets my vote for the best band name). It would be difficult to go track-by-track (not to mention long), but suffice it to say there is something for everyone here. Some other highlights that can be found on disc one are: the great classic metal outfit from Poland, Crystal Viper with “Blood of the Heroes”, “And Their Eulogies Sang Me to Sleep” by the Canadian metalcore troupe The Agonist and the UK’s Sarah Jezebel Deva with “The Corruption of Mercy”. Disc 2 begins with the Romanian Power Metal band Magica with “Wait for Me”, which is one of their very best songs (in my opinion). With compilations such as this, it is possible to find those gems that otherwise you might not be privy to. One such band for me, would have to be Witchburn from the U.S. I was completely blown away by this band and their down tuned contribution “Bleed the Stone”, just excellent. After that, we get the more familiar with Austria’s Edenbridge and The Mariana Hollow. Luna Mortis contributes “Ash”, sadly this band is no longer with us, but “Ash” is a pretty good representation of what this band from Wisconsin had to offer, which is a lot. Two of my current favorites Triosphere (with “The Anger and the Silent Remorse“) and Solsikk (“Relish in Nervous Delights”) are two more highlights. Other highlights that can be found on the second disc are: Achilla (another revelation as I had never heard them before), Amberian Dawn, Evil’s Desire and Rising Dream. I can’t imagine the work that goes into compiling a compilation such as this. It must be a daunting task, but the end result is a resounding success. Like the compilations before it, this is a great place to start if you would like to investigate some great Femme Metal bands.

Rating – 95/100



Disc 1

  1. Deadlock – “Virus Jones”
  2. Exoterik – “Revive”
  3. Regardless of Me – “Until I Die”
  4. Kittie – “Cut Throat”
  5. In This Moment – “A Star Crossed Wasteland”
  6. Mongrel – “Zombies of War”
  7. hAND – “Fate Sewn On”
  8. Decadence – “Vulture”
  9. UnSun – “Whispers”
  10. Katra – “One Wish Away”
  11. Crystal Viper – “Blood of the Heroes”
  12. Winter Storm – “The Embrace”
  13. The Agonist – “And Their Eulogies Sang Me to Sleep”
  14. Alerion – “Turn of Fate”
  15. Sarah Jezebel Deva – “The Corruption of Mercy”
  16. Jaggedy Ann – “Skin of Your Teeth”

Disc 2

  1. Magica – “Wait for Me”
  2. Witchburn – “Bleed the Stone”
  3. Edenbridge – “Higher”
  4. The Mariana Hollow – “Your Halo”
  5. Luna Mortis – “Ash”
  6. Beneath the Stares – “Guilty Bystander”
  7. Achilla – “Mirrors”
  8. Amberian Dawn – “Talisman”
  9. Lacuna Coil – “Spellbound”
  10. Triosphere – “The Anger and the Silent Remorse”
  11. Solsikk – “Relish in Nervous Delights”
  12. Noctis Notus – “Scarlet Storm”
  13. Arch Enemy – “I Will Live Again”
  14. Further From The Truth – “Drifter”
  15. Evil’s Desire – “Touched by Insanity”
  16. Rising Dream – “Religion for the Weak”


Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)