We Are the Fallen – “Tear the World Down” (2010)


Label : Universal Republic Records

Review by Tony Cannella

We Are the Fallen is the much talked about, long awaited project featuring three former members from Evanescence that recorded the hugely successful, “Fallen” record. John LeCompt, Ben Moody and Rocky Gray from Evanescence have been joined by bassist Marty O’Brien and former American Idol contestant and vocalist Carly Smithson for the debut record from We Are the Fallen, “Tear the World Down”. Of course comparisons to their previous group are inevitable and already have begun. “Bury Me Alive”, is the opener and it is a dramatic number, thanks in large part to the virtuoso vocal performance of Carly Smithson. She seems to have been an excellent choice by the band to sing in this project, but there is no denying that she does – at times – remind me of Amy Lee. The music itself is dramatic and includes bits of orchestration sprinkled throughout the album. The next track, “Burn” is faster paced than the previous track and an excellent number. “Sleep Well, My Angel” is an emotionally charged, piano dominated ballad, that offers the listener a change of pace, from the heavier, more energetic songs. Other highlights include: “Through Hell”, “I Will Stay”, “Through Hell”, and “Tear the World Down”. Comparisons to Evanescence are only natural, but once you get past that, you realize that We Are the Fallen are their own entity and the songs on “Tear the World Down” are good enough to be judged on their own merits. “Tear the World Down” is an excellent debut by a band that is ready to shed comparisons to their former band and forge their own path.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Bury Me Alive
  2. Burn
  3. Paradigm
  4. Don’t Leave Me Behind
  5. Sleep Well, My Angel
  6. Through Hell
  7. I Will Stay
  8. Without You
  9. St. John
  10. I Am the Only One
  11. Tear the World Down


Line Up

  • Carly Smithson – Vocals
  • John LeCompt – Guitars, Mandolin, Programming
  • Ben Moody- Guitars, Programming, Piano, Percussion
  • Marty O’Brien – Bass
  • Rocky Gray – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like