Weeping Silence – Promo CD 2009 (2009)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

From Malta, Weeping Silence plays symphonic power metal with goth and doom undertones. In 2008, the band released their full-length debut, “End of an Era”, now Weeping Silence are back with a new 4-song, 25-minute promo CD. The 4-songs contained on the promo CD feature sweeping, epic arrangements and intricately played musicianship. Rachel Grech leads the way with her strong and clear vocal style.The opener, “Promises Broken” begins with a heavy riff and develops into a mid-paced tempo of an opener and immediately the full scope of this talented band is on display. Lead vocalist, Rachel Grech has a nice range as her vocals soar over the excellent musicianship.“Dark Waters” and “Within White Walls” are exceptional as well. The final track, “Innocent Cries” is over 7-minutes long and it brings the CD to a rousing conclusion. I have never been familiar with Weeping Silence prior to hearing this excellent promo CD but now I am a fan. With their promo CD, Weeping Silence combines all of the elements that I look for in a band. I am sure that Weeping Silence will appeal to fans of the symphonic power metal genre. At only 25-minutes long the CD is all too short, but it definitely serves its purpose in getting fans excited for the next full-length from Weeping Silence.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Promises Broken
  2. Dark Waters
  3. Within White Walls
  4. Innocent Cries


Line Up

  • Rachel Grech – Vocals
  • Mario Ellul – Guitars
  • Toni Farruggia – Guitar
  • Allison Camilleri – Keyboards
  • Sean Pollacco – Bass 
  • Angelo Zammit – Drums  



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like