Witchbreed – “Heretic Rapture” (2009)


Label : Ascendance Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Lisbon, Portugal’s Witchbreed are a band that have generated a large amounts of excitement in metal circles. The band have just released their debut offering titled “Heretic Rapture” and I was more than curious to see what all the fuss is about. After only a few listens, I am pleased to say that all of the accolades this band has received is well deserved. The band is fronted by power house vocalist Ruby Roque. Joining her in Witchbreed are: Dikk (Guitar), Filipe Sousa (Guitar), Ares (Bass) and Tiago Lopes (Drums). The band has created a CD that is full of some of the heaviest riffs you are likely to hear this year, some great vocals and killer addictive melodies.The intro track “Atheos” sets the table for opener “Symphony for the Fallen”. This is a truly brutal opener with some thick, powerful and heavy riffing as Ruby Roque joins in with her powerful classic metal vocals. This song is a good pre-cursor of what is to come. It is a relentless number that also employs some brutal male vocals and some infectious melodies. A great opener. From there things just get better with the next track “Thy Eclipse”. This is one of my favorites and it is a good mid-tempo song with a great vocal performance by Ruby and another undeniably catchy chorus and melody. “Rebel Blood” kicks things up a notch and is another highlight. “Firethrone” and “Medeusa” keep up the high quality of the material. Other highlights include: “Fang & Claw”, “Eternal Exile” and “Eden’s End” before the outro track “Heretica” brings this CD to a conclusion. “Heretic Rapture” from beginning to end is one heck of a release. The CD was produced by Waldemar Sorychta who is perhaps best known for his work with such bands as Tiamat, Moonspell and Lacuna Coil and the band benefits great from his experience as the overall sound is very strong. The vibe on “Heretic Rapture” is dark, heavy and undeniably fierce. The band do a good job in paying homage to some classic metal bands, while adding their own modern touch to the songs. It is not always an easy thing to do but Witchbreed pull it off seamlessly. “Heretic Rapture” is as solid as a debut that I have heard in quite some time.

Rating – 90/100


  1. Atheos (Intro)
  2. Symphony for the Fallen
  3. Thy Eclipse
  4. Rebel Blood
  5. Firethrone
  6. Medeusa
  7. Ignis Bellum
  8. Ruby Light of the West
  9. Fang & Claw
  10. Eternal Exile
  11. Unspoken Vow
  12. Eden’s End
  13. Heretica (Outro)


Line Up 

  • Ruby Roque – Vocals
  • Dikk – Guitar
  • Filipe Sousa – Guitar
  • Ares (João Pedro) – Bass
  • Tiago Lopes – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook

You May Also Like