Within Temptation – “The Unforgiving” (2011)


Label : Sony Music/Roadrunner Records

Review by Tony Cannella

It’s finally here! The long awaited, much anticipated new album from Dutch Symphonic Rock Legends Within Temptation called “The Unforgiving”. This album explores new ground, as it is their first full-blown concept album, based around the comic book by Steve O’Connell (BloodRayne & Dark 48). 12-songs and 55-minutes worth music is supplied on “The Unforgiving”. The CD kicks off with the narrative intro, “Why Not Me”, which sets the stage for the concept and it quickly leads into the bombastic opener “Shot in the Dark”, which is a classic Within Temptation style song and gets “The Unforgiving” started on the perfect note. “In the Middle of the Night” is as strong a song that can be heard on “The Unforgiving”. “Faster” is the first video track and was a solid choice. Other highlights include: “Fire and Ice”, the up-tempo “Iron”, “Where Is the Edge”, “A Demon’s Fate” and “Stairway to the Skies”. With “The Unforgiving” Within Temptation has not tried to re-invent the wheel, yet the band continues to challenge themselves both musically and lyrically. Sharon Den Adel is singing better than she ever has and the band is equally as ferocious throughout the entire CD. “The Unforgiving” is a true Within Temptation album that fits in nicely with the rest of their catalogue. This is an excellent album from this iconic band.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Why Not Me
  2. Shot in the Dark
  3. In The Middle of the Night
  4. Faster
  5. Fire and Ice
  6. Iron
  7. Where is the Edge
  8. Sinead
  9. Lost
  10. Murder
  11. A Demon’s Fate
  12. Stairway to the Skies


Line Up

  • Sharon Den Adel – Vocals
  • Robert Westerholt – Guitar, Vocals
  • Ruud Jolie – Guitar
  • Martijn Spierenburg – Keyboards
  • Jeroen Van Veen – Bass



MySpace * Facebook * Google Plus * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like